some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

it's a tough job, but someone's gotta do it

October 20, 2004

In class yesterday, one of the boys told a crude joke. He asked, �what is the best part of a blow job?� The punch line was twofold, �fifteen minutes of silence� and he had no idea what a �blow job� was. I know this kid and I know he did not know what he was talking about but he still had to call the parent of his choice and repeat the joke to them and they could explain what a �blow job� was to their own child. It is not my place to provide a sexuality education to my students, we have a medical professional come in and talk about sex and sexuality to them.

The mom was more furious at me than she was with her child because she did not want to explain that to him, (she was embarrased) she thinks I should have explained oral sex/fellatio to her kid. I know that if it were my child I would have been FURIOUS if their teacher was discussing those things without clearing the issue with me, or their mother first. At this age, I do not think it was appropriate for me to enlighten her son on the ways of the world. If he were in High or Middle School I might have talked to him about it, but they are still using words like pee-pee, boner, and balls so they are not ready for words like erection, testicles, or prophylactic.

I do not know how she wanted me to explain it, and depending on your morality system, I do not know how wrong oral sex is. Apparently, according to some, it is neither sex nor immoral but according to the moral code that I subscribe to, and this school subscribes to, it is sex and it is immoral (outside of marriage). I do not what she wanted me to say about oral sex. �It is something special between a President and his Intern.�??? Honestly, what is a guy to do?

4:10 PM :: 2 comments so far ::
prev :: next