some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

hebrew hoedown deferred

March 01, 2004
Today I did not get to go jogging like I had hoped to and I did not get to make my Friday morning latkes. Friday morning latkes are a favorite item at our house because they are the result of leftover mashed potatoes from Thanksgiving, which happens on Thursday giving us what we call �Friday morning latkes.�

Latkes for the uninitiated or Midwestern are potato pancakes made for and by Jewish people, people of Jewish decent, poseurs who pretend their Jewish, and, in our case, people of Jewish decent whose Gentile and by no means gentle) father has culinary training.

I was going to have myself a Hebrew Hoedown this morning but was denied as 100 other things happened this morning. A survey from a political party (I�m beginning to believe that golfwidow and creepatron are playing a joke on me), the laundry, my alarm clock not going off on time and early bus duty being among the culprits but a lack of sour cream was the nail in my coffin. Fate, cruel fate! How you sting!

And so, I was denied my Friday morning latkes. It�s a bad, bad way to start a Monday. I know that many of you do not know the joy of latke and pin your hopes on beer, sex, drugs and human interaction but a latke is one of life�s greatest pleasures

11:04 AM :: 3 comments so far ::
prev :: next