some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

where is your hand?

February 01, 2004
Twice this weekend I�ve had to explain masturbation to a woman in the moral paradigm of Lutheran Theology.

One was a parent of a boy in my class called and asked me about it and what Lutherans think about masturbation. It�s hard not be flippant about it. �We think it�s fun!� or �Funny you should bring that up because you�ve caught me in the middle of something�� all seem terribly clever until you think through the logical implications of what you�re about to say.

Then, I had to explain it to Paula, who is a bit neurotic. She apparently believes that people fantasize about her husband when they masturbate, I do not and I�m sure I�m speaking for a lot of people when I say that.

The point is that Lutherans believe that you commit the same sin if you�re thinking it or doing it. If you�re thinking about having sex with someone you�ve committed adultery in your heart and that�s where we see masturbation as wrong.

If you think this idea is wacky our entire legal system is centered on the �faith action dichotomy,� where the intent of your action is just as important as the action itself.

I had to have this conversation twice this weekend.

9:22 PM :: 8 comments so far ::
prev :: next