some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

fille a la maison

June 01, 2005
I noticed on Memorial Day Sunday that Katherine Bates wrote America the Beautiful, which in my mind migrated to Kathy Bates having written the song and the image of her singing it, naked in a hot tub ala About Schmidt has been stuck in my head ever since. I love Kathy Bates; I cannot get enough of her. I would go see her in any movie, which explains half of why I went to see About Schmidt but not why I own the DVD. Stellar actors cannot make a movie good, just by being there (Attack of the Clones).


"For purple mountain majesties
Above the fruited plain!"

The best way, I can think of, to enjoy Missy Elliot�s music is to imagine Kathy Bates singing it instead of Missy, boys, boys, all types of boys � black, white, Puerto Rican, Chinese boys


I am working getting ready to return to my exile in Academia hosted by the State of Nebraska. The Unicameral of Nebraska passed a law while I was in college stating that quality radio programming was out of the question. Western Pennsylvania has similar, less logical laws aimed at boring passing motorists. To that end, I need your help. First, I need good play lists for my iPod (the car I am borrowing this summer is equipped to play an iPod through the speakers � hot). Second, if you are a rich and benevolent reader you can send me an iTunes Gift Certificate to my email address.

I may even name a play list after you. Right now, I am compiling my �Connie Cobb� play list because Colleen (the author) is my fille a la maison (I can feel Margaret cringing at my French, and here her �tut tut� across cyber space). As much as I adore Colleen, my play list needs to be reworked:

Connie Cobb

�Whatever I Feel Like� Napoleon Dynamite
�Working My Way Back To You Babe� The Spinners
�Paint it, Black� The Rolling Stones
�Light My Fire� The Doors
�Reflections� Diana Ross & the Supremes
�Strawberry Fields� (performed by) Ben Harper
�You�re A God� Vertical Horizon
�Collide� Howie Day
�Trucker Hat� Bowling for Soup

This does not adequately express the style and spunk that is represented by my fille a la maison by �Working My Way Back To You Babe� used to be her diary title, �Paint it, Black� and �Reflections� are throw backs to when I watched television and my obsession with shows about Viet Nam (we had one channel in English where I grew up), �Light My Fire� is fantastic, �Strawberry Fields� fulfills the law of mix tapes and play lists that states they include at least one Beatles Standard, �You�re a God� because Colleen is worth faking knowledge of French, �Collide� got there on its own and I am too lazy to change it and I wrote �Trucker Hat� about Colleen. This does not reflect her tastes in music, but the retro goodness of this play list is supposed to be a tribute to her timeless style, not an admission of guilt on my part for having terrible taste in music.

It says a lot about Nebraska that it has a unicameral legislature, namely that they are too lazy to have two houses. South Africa has three. Other notable unicameral governments include: your mother�s parole board.

What is on your iPod? What should be on mine?


I had Oreo cookies for breakfast this morning. I need to be disappointed in myself.

6:30 AM :: 16 comments so far ::
prev :: next