some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

"working" for a "living"

February 25, 2005
My boss at my second job, a wee little man, thinks that I should pursue my PhD because he said, �That school will never give you a raise so you will work here for me forever and I will take great pleasure in saying, �Dr. Spritopias � a sweep and a mop, please� and �a box of fries Dr. Spritopias, please.� Apparently, I have to earn my PhD to get the man to say �please.� I wonder what I have to do for him to say, �thank you.� Everyone is excited I was accepted into my program for their own special reason.

Yesterday at work one of the immigrants that I work with told me, out of the blue, that he was not going to do what I asked him to do (and it is very unlike me to ask instead of order) because he did not want to orders from a Jew or, indicating my coworker, a woman because in his country men do not listen to Zionist Dogs or women.

My initial response was, �In this country only little boys act like that, and men work while they are on the clock no matter who their boss is,� but I know from a great deal of practical experience that my statement was untrue but instead I said, �Buddy, you are in Connecticut. You are in the wrong place to be intolerant of women and Jews and New England is the more tolerant part of this country that, certifiably, is more tolerant than the one you came from and while you are here and blessed with a job that not everyone has you might as well work before you no longer have a job, you are not acting like a man you are acting like a spoiled child.�

I have no idea how he knew I was a Zionist. I keep politics and religion out of the vocal part of my working life although I always try to �lead by example� and uphold the tenets of my faith.


I watch NBC�s The Apprentice and I do not like the �Street Smarts� team but watching them in the Board Room (bored room) was like watching a room full of President Bush with the misused or made up words, the massacre of English grammar and the wacky facial expressions. So far I am completely disappointed in this season but will remain engaged to see what Martha Stewart�s version is. I am very unhappy that she is getting out of prison AFTER my birthday when I specifically asked the government to let her out for my party.


My class was in the newspaper the other day and because of the tendencies of one of my readers I cannot say too much about it because they will try to hunt down the article and extrapolate who my students are because their plan to put billboards up on Connecticut�s scenic highways were foiled by Lady Bird Johnson. My point in sharing that my students were in the paper was that the person who took our photograph regards me as an idiot and did not take my advice to put the sun in our faces instead of behind us. If you were to see the picture, you would see: all the white children, myself, and none of the minority children. He took the picture in such a way that they blended into the darkness around them. I can only imagine how disappointed they were to know they were in the paper and have no proof because the photographer committed a sin they enjoy so well themselves: not listening to Dr. �would you like fries with that� Spritopias when he was giving instructions.

9:16 AM :: 6 comments so far ::
prev :: next