some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

never caught dead

February 24, 2005
I actually looked at one of the seven publications sent to me by my religious denomination and found something amusing. They are having a conference for single adults in late June.

My first thought was that it was a shameless ploy to pair us off; if they gathered up all the singles and put them in one place we would be able to meet each other and get married that same weekend. I felt bad for thinking that as I read further and there were activities for divorced and widowed people. I had assumed that their first concern was taking all of us who have always been single and matching us to others. Maybe they did actually care about the well being of others and this was not some tacky charade.

Reading further it talked about several, organized and informal, opportunities for singles who had never been married to socialize and spend time together. So, my initial suspicions were confirmed.

I talked it over with Elizabeth, and we think it is great that they are getting the widowed and divorced together for networking and support (because there is never enough of that) we also agree we would never be caught dead at a conference for the perpetually single. I should make a bet with her about whose mother will start pressuring whom to go to this. I will be in school so I will not be going to this no matter what would make my mother happy and it is four hundred dollars so I am confident that Elizabeth would not actually go either.

To the High School readers: yes, even as an adult you will be doing things at the behest of your father because, �It will make your mother happy.� Less and less every year, to be sure, but you will still do it.

I am fine with being single, I am not fine with being pathetic about it.

Thank you, to everyone who congratulated me on Graduate School and who has recently added me to their list.

9:57 AM :: 6 comments so far ::
prev :: next