some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

Violet Beauregarde

February 23, 2005
Have you seen Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory, the version with Gene Wilder from 1971? Maybe you remember when Violet Beauregarde turned purple, expanded, and floated out of the room?

That happened to my head today after a game of phone tag with the woman who runs the graduate program I would like to be admitted to � I was accepted. She would love to have me in her program. Things were said to the effect of, it would be a pleasure to have you in the program and I remember you with great respect for your creativity and openness to new ideas! I was also called smart, funny and creative.

For the record, Mary Tyler Moore and I revere this woman.

I have been around many teachers and many of them lack her integrity, work ethic, and enthusiasm. I am a better teacher because she taught us by her example that we are not in a job; we are on a mission. The difference is that some teachers have a career, but the Lutheran Teacher has a ministry. Some teachers give it their �all� and others give it their everything.

She gave us her everything and has now offered me the opportunity to learn to give my everything to my students. It reminds me of the end of Lord of the Rings: Return of the King when Theoden says, �I go now to my fathers, in whose mighty company I will no longer feel ashamed.� I was invited to come to where I came from by one of the five professors I respected while I was at University, two others have retired and the remaining professors have a paternal influence over me and contend I will teach there one day.

It is a nice place to visit but I do not want to live there.

Today, I was accepted to the graduate school and program of my choice. I am so incredibly excited.

10:04 PM :: 12 comments so far ::
prev :: next