some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

small disappointment after a long wait

February 25, 2005
School was out this week and since school was closed the mail was not delivered. This would be okay if my personal mail did not come to the school, so I had to get up early today and go to the Post Office.

There are four people who work at the counter at our post office. There is the cheerful brunette who is polite and apologetic, the snippy blonde who refuses to look things up even if it is a part of her duties, the grumpy old man who pretends like his friendly and tries not move to quickly lest he disturb his elaborate comb-over or impeccably neat clothing and finally the old man who has let himself go, does not pretend to be friendly and is not entirely helpful or competent. I was hoping for cheerful brunette but since my request was abnormal, I was confident in getting the snippy blonde or comb-over. They are rude, but they know what to do.

I got the man who let himself go, and experience is with teaches that people how are unkempt are usually unprofessional and unqualified. He guffawed all through my explanation and grumpily took down my information and asked me to move to the window where no one was working so I did not back the line up since I would be there a while and there was no point in the two of us staring at each other while others waited. He paged someone in an incredibly rude voice and let me stand there; straightening up the counter (Monk tendencies) while no one came to help me.

The worst part of this was being forced to listen to Lionel Richie and Jim Croche songs the entire time. Never leave the house without the iPod! I am sure that there would be no torture scandal if we had kept it to making people listen to terrible music and not making them get naked.

After a while he came back and asked for my driver�s license and he wrote everything down and waddled into the back, leaving his clip-on tie behind him as he accidentally yanked it off in his exaggerated tantrum about the whole affair. After twenty minutes he came waddling back with a crate full of mail and apologized to me for the inconvenience and explained how annoyed he was at his coworkers for canceling the mail to many places around the city that were open this week or at least had people collecting the mail. I was amazed that he apologized and did not throw the box at me.

I always assume that people who are angry or upset are that way because of something I did. This time it was not my fault, this individual was just a jerk.

What was in my mail? Bills, a coupon for free make up from Aveda and other things I will never use. I was disappointed to no end.

4:36 PM :: 4 comments so far ::
prev :: next