some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

DFYS

January 29, 2005
Today I was contacted by the Department of Families and Youth Services about one of my students. This compounded any stress I was already feeling about my day. One of the honest criticisms of this diary (aptly named superfluous discourse) is that the concerns of my daily life, the problems I encounter, and my activities are mundane and trivial. I am not an important person; I am not moving mountains but I am okay with that. I am doing what I want to do, and I realize that my life juxtaposed against most others is a simple, blessed and easy life.

Today was one such example: the Department of Families and Youth Services (DFYS) contacted me today. The parents of one of my students are divorced, it is a nasty divorce, and the mother uses their children as a club with which to enact her �justice� on her ex-husband. She complained about the father and I was called for my assessment, thinking I would concur with the mother.

Why do we always believe the mother?

I do not take these calls alone. I usually take them on speakerphone with my boss and secretary in the room; today I had the superintendent, the school�s attorney, my secretary, and the principal. People question the secretary being there but we all know she is in charge. There are few times I feel like I am in some way important, however having my own secretary and a speaker phone makes me a bit big for my britches. I call them trousers, but I am pretentious. It went down with the attorney stating that it was not our place to get involved in bickering between adults; the children were fine by every indication available to use � beside the stress they get from their mother. They are afraid of their mother and that it is not healthy. I told them I thought the woman was crazy, a bad mother, and listed my reasons with evidence for that and a host of other things. The dad is not so terrible and it is like that rap group said, �it�s a baby, not a paycheck.� I hope DFYS removes the children and places them with their father, who is a better parent. At least when he has the them come to school fed, clean, dressed appropriately with their homework done.

I feel so bad for this kid; any disadvantage can be overcome with decent, stable parents at your side. This is tragic because his mother is the greatest obstacle in his life. She should be his champion and supporter. Instead, she can best be described as that which inhabits a supporter.

That left a bad taste in my mouth all day long.

12:11 AM :: 5 comments so far ::
prev :: next