some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

Yes, Virginia, there is a spoon.

January 14, 2005
One of the aspects of diet is eating better and by �eating better� I mean not �cooking something on Monday and eating it all week.� I cook every day now and do dishes everyday as well. I usually do the dishes three times a day now, and as a single person I am alarmed at how much I am using and washing in a day.

Last night I had to clean out my sink�s trap and that usually scares me. I wash my hands before and after this event. I pulled something out that felt particularly disgusting � I had no idea what is was and I have unraveled the mystery of its origin but you can look at it here at buzz net and tell me what you think it is.

I do not have a garbage disposal and many people keep telling me I should get one. Garbage disposals scare me and I am not a big fan of my inability to clean it in a way that I am happy.

The last time we had a garbage disposal we lived in Kansas. The only time I remember using it when my cousins � who also do not have disposals � came to visit. I remember this as remarkable because my one cousin was helping at all. We were doing the dishes, and she let a spoon drop into the disposal and I had to fish it out. Thinking she would be helpful she turned the light on, she thought she turned the light on but she turned the disposal on.

Before I ever did anything with the disposal I took the drain cover off and looked inside and with this particular model you had a lot of room in the chamber before you had actual contact with the blades. I knew this, my cousin, however, did not.

When I saw her flip the switch, I flattened my hand against the top of the chamber and screamed bloody murder as if my hand was being eaten off. My little sister (who at the time was taller than I was) started screaming �SHUT IT OFF! SHUT IT OFF!� After a few fumbles with different switches the disposal was finally shut off and I pulled my unscathed hand out the chamber to realize that my entire family was now in the tiny kitchen looking at me first in horror and then disgust for my trickery. I felt a hand hit me in the back of my head. It was my male cousin � who hits harder than he looks able to. At this point, everyone had a hearty laugh, except my cousin who has yet to help me do dishes in the eleven years since this happened.

My only regret is that there were not tomatoes or red food to come flying out of the disposal.

Do not put your hand in a garbage disposal.


It has become all the vogue for people who are too lame to field a good diary to post my picture as well as Kipp�s picture around the world with poorly formatted photoshopped slogans. Kipp and I felt it best that we provide you with the appropriate unflattering photo of the both of us to post all around when you feel the need, find it here:

Spritopias/Creepatron Photo and this is the picture � one that Andrew will never let us run as a banner:


For the record, the House would never actually impeach us nor the Senate convict.

3:35 PM :: 6 comments so far ::
prev :: next