some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

eagles rather than doves

January 04, 2005
Question: What are we doing tonight?
What You�ll Learn: Same thing we do every night, Kipp. Try and take over the world.


In the year 2005 I resolve to:

Take over the world.

Get your resolution here


As you can tell, I am unpacking from being at my parents house right now after a long trip to my parent�s house and then to my god parent�s house. When I was at my parent�s house I was getting tired of it because I am used to being alone, in my own house without people to bother with all the time. Being an independent adult in your parent�s house is tough because it is a dynamic that no one is used to initially. Your parents are used to being the boss and you are used to being the boss, you remember not being the boss but were not terribly fond of it.

Sometimes being at Mom�s house is like being on a cruise. You sleep most of the day and when you wake, magically, there is food. By �food,� I mean �smorgasbord� (I didn�t realize that smorgasbord was a word) and you do not have to clean up after that food because being home is cruise-like. You are then shuffled around to activities preferred by the old as they predominate the cruise life, are fed more food, you are entertained by cable (something I will not get myself) and then feed some more and you sleep until feel like waking up. Other things magically happen like clothes being cleaned and ironed or your favorite things magically appearing in the fridge. It is amazing.

Mom had bronchitis the last week I was home so I was privileged to do the unthinkable and run the household for her. Cleaning, cooking, errands, taking care of the grounds, getting after my father about things, and making sure she did not die a tragic death on the couch. Thank God (or whatever it is you worship) that she is not her mother, for whom everything is a tragedy to which Shakespeare could not do justice. In contrast, my Dad�s mother is laid back about everything that the last time I saw her alive she said, �By the way, this is my �swan song,� and the next time you see me it will be at my viewing.� She said this in the same tone and presentation that she would say, �I am going to the A & P, do you want fried chicken or SPAM for dinner?�

I have a ton of respect for her behavior around the time that she died, that she let herself die is not cool, hard to understand but completely justifiable if you had ever met her husband. It is my father�s father but we all refer to him as our �sperm donor, twice removed.� He was terrible to her for her entire adult life and in her last weeks alive, she really let him have it. I do not think that it mattered to her anymore. She was dying, what could he do to her? I would have admired her more if she had gotten up and left him while she still had her health. Maybe, she might have had a life she was happy with and lived longer. Do not be my Grandmother; leave the bastard. Leave him now.


Diary Land affords you the option of knowing whom on Diary Land links to you, and lets you know when they change their comment about you. Barbara wrote the nicest thing about me in her profile. More people should say nice things about me like she does, she made me blush. Get off your asses and praise me! Okay, maybe not, but she made my otherwise blah day.


10:00 PM :: 4 comments so far ::
prev :: next