some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

many people don't follow the news but follow the stars

January 05, 2005
We have not been back in school a whole week and the prediction of a snow day is not only exciting to me but it is also absurdly welcome. I hate the disruption to my schedule but I would also like to take a nap on my couch. I did that yesterday; it was delicious. I say delicious because I drooled on my shirtsleeve, which I almost never do. It would have been a much better nap had it not lasted thirty minutes. I make a point of looking at the clock when I lay down so I can be disappointed in myself later for wasting time but I was woken up by the Cub Scouts who meet in the basement of my building because they were being loud.

Whoever was watching them was also allowing them to play tag in the stairwell without consideration of the fact that people live and work in this building. This would not have annoyed me as much but there is a gym down the hall where they could have played a ton of sports without waking me up or annoying the offices adjacent to the stairwell. I was a child; I remember what it is like: loud, active, full of scorn from adults. I am fine with children playing where they are supposed to play. I am also not cool with how late Cub Scouts was, I woke up at 7:45, those boys should have been at home in bed � not arriving for Cub Scouts.

Sitting here hoping for a snow day won�t make it happen. Good luck, Yvonne and Golf! They are going to get it worse than I am.

7:37 AM :: 2 comments so far ::
prev :: next