some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

sister hazel

December 06, 2004
Today is our first snow. I get to drive to work in it. I cannot wait. The kids went nuts today, just nuts. There will not be enough for a snow day, not unless all the snow in the state drifts into our town.

The Atlantic Monthly is my favorite magazine. However this month is devoted twenty inches of column space to the debate over which member of the cast of the Simpson�s was a homosexual. This took my delightfully liberal, high-[[[[[[minded magazine and trashed it into something my students would read. Who cares who is a homosexual and who is not? Why is that so important?

Also, I got my Christmas present from Great Grandma today. I am very excited. She really broke the bank on this one and I am willing to bet that only Dan and I got presents this year (again)�well, maybe Al too but the point is that only those who said thank-you in the past get presents in the future. That is a good policy for a woman on a budget. If she can find five dollars to give you, (and that�s what you get) you can find five minutes to thank her. She has seen two Roosevelt Presidencies she is not exactly young.

She sends five dollars every year, which is generous in the context of her means and the sheer size of her progeny. The greatest gift she has given us, however, is our faith and the belief in the goodness of other people. That is something missing in this world.

I wish I knew how to do page breaks like Golf Widow. I really do.

3:39 PM :: 5 comments so far ::
prev :: next