some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

if you can't stand the heat

December 06, 2004
Last night I came to the conclusion that if I ever left being President of Diary Land to be President of the United States that I would issue an executive order that people who refuse to take their antipsychotic medications would be barred from the internet.

The person who was harassing me feels that they have this right to dish out criticisms without receiving any themselves in return. There is a great deal of Christian dogmatic nuance at play in our dispute and I could elaborate but the point is: we are not supposed to be coming down on each other, but building each other up. We are supposed to point out the flaws in others and areas where they can improve � in love. This person did not follow our rules and the irony is that the things he was criticizing me for are crimes that he is guiltier of than I am.

The point for you is on Diary Land there are community standards � standards that I did not always uphold but I strive to uphold today. Everyone community has standards and this one is no different.

The most important part of these standards is how we treat one another. If someone gives you the option of providing feedback on their diary, clearly they want feedback. However, many diarists and commentators do not �comment well� in that, they do not subscribe to any sense of decency.

Beyond agreeing to disagree, I think this community needs to find a polite way to agree to disagree. No, I know we need to find a better way to do this. I am not advocating keeping your opinions to yourself, I am saying: politely express opinions you have taken the time to form � do not attack people based on drive by reading and an inadequate understanding of the diarist.

The person who attacked me attacked me based on one entry and one banner, had he continued to read he would have noticed two things. First, I have a sense of humor and that sense of humor affords me mental health. Being able to look at the world, shrug and say, �it�s pretty goofy� is a gift I thought EVERYONE had but in noticing this person�s analysis of me I have to remind myself that some people lack full function in the right side of their brains � the side that governs creativity and sense of humor.

I guess this can all be summed up with this quote from Coolio: If you can�t stand the heat, get your donkey out of the kitchen � I�m on a mission�

3:03 PM :: 1 comments so far ::
prev :: next