some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

Where did you get that toothbrush then?

November 07, 2004
There is a misplaced comma in the third sentence of the first paragraph. Microsoft insists upon it being there even if it makes me look stupid. I do not need help from anyone to look like an ass.

Where did you get that toothbrush then?


Today my God Mother and I had an argument in which we were both right. At the conclusion of any argument we move on to discussing how a third party is wrong, this is our way. In focusing on some thing, that we find wrong in the world we skip passed what was irritating us about the other person. The argument was stupid to the point of me not remembering what offended me that much.

However, the fault we found in others was that people (in general) will collect something if you just go to the trouble of labeling it, �collectable.� This is true beyond reason. How many of us have been trampled in a fast food establishment because their children�s meal included some piece of garbage made by political prisoners in an Asian country screaming for regime change so that some half-wit could resell the toy on eBay? My grandmother is not the only person with spoons that were never used for eating, mugs never used for drinking or books that were never cracked open. She is, I hope, the only person who collected urns. I am still baffled by her being buried; clearly, she wanted cremation if she collected so many urns. The problem should not have been the cremation/burial debate but it should have been, �which of these things do we put her in?�

Call it collectable and people stampede.

Henceforth, my old socks are a collectable item - not only have I worn them but also because my cousin Daniel wore them before I did. For all my fear of germs and obsessive/compulsive behaviors, I am wearing someone else�s gym socks. I am wearing them right now. I will sell them to you at a price you will not regret in the morning.

12:49 AM :: 0 comments so far ::
prev :: next