some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

if you bet the double wide

November 06, 2004

Our playground is a large parking lot behind the church. Our children need to be clever to enjoy their recess. Every time we have put up a basketball hoop, the neighborhood tears it down. We also have no swings and the children are not allowed to draw with chalk on the ground because the spinsters who attend the church are offended by any sign that children have been on the grounds and have had fun.

As a rule, when I have recess duty on a Friday before a Sunday I know is going to be packed I give the second grade girls two tubs of chalk and let them loose on the blacktop.

The playground is also on an incline making some games difficult. Normally they are limited to kick ball, dodge ball, or tag. On Friday, we played ghetto soccer. �This part of the fence is our goal and that part of the fence is your goal.� We played one of the strangest games of soccer I have ever been involved in, my team had to fight uphill with the ball against much bigger kids. No one wanted the second grade boys on their team so I made up a team of me, the boy from Barbados and the second grade boys against everyone bigger than them.

As I am the slow fat kid, I played goalie. I was scored on thrice � I let them have as many goals as purple hearts. The second grade boys no one wanted? They ruled my class. Big kids can kick hard but the little boys were weaving around the bigger ones and had unilateral control of the ball. They were just better, and we won an uphill battle. It was not like Reagan/Carter it was like Reagan/Mondale.

I also tore my pants. Do not offer to be goalie on blacktop. It is just not sensible.

If like me, you watched election night coverage on NBC because you would not trust CBS to watch your parking space, then you missed Dan Rather�s finest performance Go Here and check out what Dan Rather had to say. Like Kipp, it is hotter than a Times Square Rolex.


I was also disappointed in this week�s apprentice. I cannot believe that Raj was fired. I really liked him, he had personality. I also think he was supposed to be fired for eventual sexual harassment � not incompetence. My disappointment was tempered by Tom Daschle being fired as well, it was good to see him go.

11:11 AM :: 8 comments so far ::
prev :: next