some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

Thank God, Its Friday Finds

November 05, 2004
Friday Finds � November 5, 2005

Urban and Urbane


One of the rigors of urban living for me is maintaining my apartment. When you live in a small space, you need to keep it organized and efficient. I do at least. I would be miserable living in a mess. You share so much of your life when you live in an urban area, especially your space: on the train, in common spaces, the office, and public parks � the list goes on. Your home needs to be an oasis from the outside world.

I got to IKEA to turn my apartment into an Urban Oasis. Reasonable prices, stylish furniture, and quality construction make it a great place to shop. If you are on a beer budget with Champaign taste then IKEA is for you.

I also like to cook, and eat, well. One of the ways that I do this is by searching out great recipes. I like Epicurious.com , it has a great deal of good ideas to make my culinary life better. Okay, I find things I like and link them to my father (a trained chef). Seven people have linked me to this and I am going to give it a shot either Sunday or Monday night.

She walks in beauty, Like the night of cloudless climes and starry skies; And all that's best of dark and bright meet in her aspect and her eyes

~Lord Byron on Beauty
Yvonne is one of my favorite diarists because she inspires me to be a better person and keeps my writing on its toes. Yvonne is fellow citizen of the Constitution State, a great mother, active member of her community, and a Yankees fan. Her photography enrages me because I cannot take such quality photographs. I watch my mouth (or fingers because Yvonne, Marie and Marna are reading and if step out of line someone is going to whip me back into shape.

Mary is a friend from college who is the teacher extraordinaire I might one day be, if I get my act together. Overcoming a principal who is not balanced, a building in flux, and the generous pay and benefits of the Lutheran Teacher, Mary is a woman who lives up to her namesake patron saints in her patience, compassion, skill, perspective, and example to others. She is a �good and faithful servant,� one of the few people in my order I wish I were more like.

Terri is a pillar of strength. If all mothers put themselves into their children as she does, we would live in a better world. Many times after reading her dairy I think to myself, �I would take a hike!� This may be the difference between women and men or it may just be that Terri is a woman of exceptional fortitude.

10:31 PM :: 5 comments so far ::
prev :: next