some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

bury the hatchet

November 06, 2004
This articulates what I am writing about better than I do, A Little Island: Differences Do Not Mandate Disrespect. I start this off with the caveat that if you do not like politics, you will not like this and that a commenting diarist offended me a great deal today. I end this with a call to bury the hatchet.

The election is over and there are still hurt feelings. People hate to lose, and it is an unfortunate fact that someone has to but we tried having two winners in 2000 and all we ended up with was two losers: the American public our democracy.

I advocated in 2000 that although I supported President Bush, and I still do, that for the sake of democracy, he should lose. Senator Mc Cain and (then) Governor Bush inspired me to be a Republican and President Clinton�s actions and policy drove me from my original Democratic loyalties. I would have felt the same about Vice-President Gore had he ascended to the Presidency. The courts, especially the Supreme Court, should not ensconce anyone in the Oval Office.

The candidates brought the election into the courts together and they both came out of that experience looking terrible. Had I been George W. Bush in 2000 I would have conceded to Vice-President Gore, clearly the will of the Republic was that he lead us. However, our system of Government is a Republic and the Republic speaks through representatives � never directly. Had I been Vice-President Gore in 2000 I would have conceded and repeated history. I would have been the Andrew Jackson to George W. Bush�s John Quincy Adams.

However, in 2004, security became my primary concern. The Democrats did not field a candidate who understood that, or promoted a different plan for winning the war. He promoted the pre 9/11 policies that dug us the whole we sit in. We had a bitter election. Honestly, either man would be a good President in my opinion. I happen to prefer Bush.

The election is over and there are still people with hurt feelings, I am sure they will be hurt for a while. I know that I am continually annoyed by posts like this. The funny thing about that post is that it proves a point Dan (I�d) Rather (not)�s point about people not understanding the other half other electorate.

I myself used to be opposed to linking out to someone I disagreed with for fear that someone would leave here and flame the person. I have stopped caring about that, I have learn in years I have written online is that you open yourself up to attack every time you open your digital mouth. I do not want you to flame this person, everyone is entitled to their opinion.

Here comes mine.

The failure of the Kerry Campaign, and the Dean campaign before it, was to inspire the people who normally would not vote for you to come and do it because you were an inspired, able leader. According to this and posts like it, I am stupid for having a religious conviction and living by it. According to this everyone who disagrees with her is some kind of fanatic who falls on the floor and babbles in tongues.

She is a teacher, so am I. If we saw the kind of interaction going on in our classrooms that we see here on the Internet, we would be swift to correct the poor behavior. I never pretend to be liberal but people like that do. If she were a liberal she would understand and respect my point of view, instead she is a leftist who mocks those who diverge from her own limited worldview.

I would like to bury the hatchet; I would like us all to move on with our lives from the election. I am not urging you to blindly support the President, in fact in a couple of days I plan to start outlining how I disagree with the man myself � just wait until He starts appointing justices to the Supreme Court. I am urging for us to be civil.

I would like you to read this article. The people of Delaware brilliant and I think we, as a Republic, should follow their example.

Let's bury the hatchet - and make sure the handle is not sticking out.

Additionally, there are many Christians who did not vote for the President. To own the truth, the Theologians who most inspire me and shape my thinking did not. I do not know that is a fact, but I would be surprised if they did. My Senior paper was, �God is a Liberal.� There is room for everyone in the church, and the social agenda of the Faithful is radical on all ends.


11:50 PM :: 1 comments so far ::
prev :: next