some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

I do not have a nickname for you but I am tempted to call you, �Sir�

October 17, 2004

I have been talking a lot on the phone to my best friend who lives in Texas. We both are phobic on germs, I forget what the phobia is called, but we are both all over that one. We traded situations where the germ thing gets us. I appreciated it so much because there are several situations that I had not even thought to be afraid of, but now I know about them.

I went to a cocktail party this evening for work and it was really nice. The party was given by three people and held at one of their homes. The home was very nice and everything would have made an excellent edition of Martha Stewart Living: Before the West Virginia Months.

One of the people giving the party is a homosexual and it is not something that is discussed because he is a member of the clergy and apparently he is not a �practicing homosexual� or he is not out of the closet. Something is up and I am not sure what it is but it something that he is open about but no one talks or cares about except for one teacher who thought it was clever that it was a cocktail party given by a homosexual; get it, cock & tail party � to which I replied after the third time hearing it that I would laugh if I was magically turned into a fourteen-year-old again and heterosexism became okay again and gay bashing clever.

The other painful part of the evening what the political discussion started by someone to the tune of bashing the President and her feelings on the �fucking idiots� who support the President. The person must have missed the George W. Bush bumper sticker on their car, pin on their jacket, sign on the yard, or picture on the refrigerator. Beyond that, I think it is rude to discuss current events or politics in a manner that could offend someone, notably your host who has gone to a great deal of trouble to present a wonderful party for everyone to show HER appreciation for US.

I find supporting either candidate as acceptable (even if I find Kerry�s ideas except-able) and I would never call someone an idiot, nor an idiot engaged in sexual congress, because they supported someone I did not. I may find a policy or a politician undesirable (and even call them clever names) but I would never attack someone based on their ideas.

That is where I am the �liberal� and the �liberals� in our Republic are really leftists. Kerry talked about in the debates how he �understood and respected the ideas of others� but you could tell that he really do not understand what was going on at the heart of the beliefs of those who oppose his ideals. I really tired of all the name calling in politics, I realize that I am a part of the problem in some of things that I say here but I have a very limited audience.

There were also parents of my students at this party and I always enjoy the opportunity to get to know the parents of children in my classroom. I also like to be able to tell the parents how great I think their children are, especially if there is a time when I eventually do not think they are so wonderful and have to have a conference with the parents. I want there to be a relationship built up there to work with. I have the dream class this year (eleven students: five in fifth, six in fourth, eight boys, three girls). They are all great kids and there is not a single one that I would like to drown, at least not yet.

I hope someone good is hosting Saturday Night Live. Is that too much to ask?

12:03 AM :: 2 comments so far ::
prev :: next