some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

Bernie Mac N Cheese

September 12, 2004
I also find it most excellent that Colleen is back, I did not know that she was until after I posted that Betty was back. Betty was chased away by her husband�s evil leftist boss while Colleen had been kidnapped and interrogated by spies for said boss. It is good to have them both back.

For some reason our church changes the time that the worship service is held when the school year starts and ends. This is very confusing to me and caused me to be a half hour late for church this morning.

Discounting the forty pews in the front we leave empty in case of an emergency the only seat open when I arrived at church was directly in front of two of the families that have kids in my class. One of the parents I had not even met yet and now I have to make a big show of being late for church.

I had better write down his name as a student not to hassle about being late, sick, or just plain gone from school.

I really do not mind when my students miss school. It is a little hassle for me but I also realize that being at school or not is a decision that is made by an adult, not them. I remember times when we missed school for other events with our parents. One notable time was a midweek trip to Disney World or to see the opening of The Return of the Jedi. If you want an indicator of how old I am, we went to watch part of the filming for the movie when the did the desert scenes in Yuma.

What I do mind, and I mind this greatly, is the stupid excuses I get or the lies. Just tell me, �we took a family day,� or whatever you did. I had one parent whose aunt died three times last year before actually dying. The first time she died they went to the beach. The second time she died, they were at a pumpkin patch. The third time she died, they went sledding. When she actually died, I was out of sympathy cards and at the end of my rope. Each time I would say to the boy when he would come back to school, �I�m sorry about your aunt,� when really there was no dead aunt and he would tell me that. Had they said, �we were taking a day to be a family.� I would have been cool with it. I am no longer cool with that mother; I tend to be pretty wound up and unhelpful.

It is time for work! Sorry for being so boring!

1:53 PM :: 6 comments so far ::
prev :: next