some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

this isn't a hiatus, I don't even know what that is

July 24, 2004
I am not dead; I am visiting my parent�s home in Kentucky as well as my sister.

I am done with my Science Curriculum for the upcoming school year, I just have to type it up and publish it. Being at home has afforded me the opportunity to do this while being in Connecticut offers me a ton of other exciting things to fill my time.

Yesterday Melissa and Jon stopped by on their way to North Carolina and we hung out for a while. My parent�s house may be in the worst state in the Republic to live in but it is on the way to nicer places. We get a lot of visitors here on their way to other places. We drove around my town to show them the reality of rural America and I am here to remind you that it is an ugly reality.

Then we had lunch at Kentucky Fried Chicken (KFC) because of the very important LWML Anti-Boycott of KFC. All over Louisville, there are four billboards with Richard Pryor or Pamela Anderson complaining about cruelty to chickens that KFC engages in and we should all boycott the place. In the words of one of them women involved in the boycott, �who is Richard Pryor to sober up and tell me what to do?� Of course, they are cruel to the chickens! They are what we call �food� in the profession. I know the genetically modified so they have larger breasts and less feathers but so is Pamela Anderson and no one is boycotting her.

I think you should Anti-boycott KFC as well. Eat that chicken; eat it good.

I have also just gotten back from four days (which I had thought were five) in Saint Louis with my friends from college and included a trip up the Saint Louis Arch and a trip around the Budweiser Brewery. The brewery is free and they reward you with beer at the end of the tour and considering some of the people in our entourage the free beer was the absolute least they could do for us at the end of our time.

I also go to see my old roommate from college and just hang out with people that I had not seen in years and will not see again until at least April when the members of my order meet for their convention in Indianapolis. I usually do not attend this event but this year I will if my school pays for it.

On my way home from Peoria the other day someone told me that I could not wear my New York Yankees hat because I am not from New York. That could be a fair statement but I am from New York even if I live in Connecticut. I told that person, who did not even know me, that I was from Connecticut � the affluent suburb of New York City and could wear any hat I wanted. I mean, honestly, Yvonne and I, can and will support the home team even if we just live in the suburb.

ENOUGH FOR NOW!

2:41 PM :: 8 comments so far ::
prev :: next