some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

I pull legs, not fingers

June 17, 2004
The past two days, for me, have been excellent ones. They are the kind of days where you feel like everything is going to work out and in the end everything will be okay.

How long will this last?

I went to Kinko�s today on a mission for Third Job and I was there yesterday on a personal errand. I should learn to coordinate those trips but I am not currently that organized.

However, I am going to ride this euphoric wave right into next school year. I know it cannot last that long but while I have this burst of youth optimism I am going to start writing lesson plans for the next school year. With over twenty sections to prepare for I will appreciate my hard, boring work later.

German will the hardest part because I am going to need to make and laminate signs that label everything in our room with their English and German names. I am using a method of instruction that Leonardo Da Vinci suggested via this book:

This book is genius and let me tell you, I love me a bandwagon. I will jump on just about any bandwagon that promises to make me smarter, richer, thinner, hell � add �er� to the word and I want to be there. I may have a brain the size of a planet but I am a sucker for an info-merical. This Christmas I was sitting on the couch with the Princess watching QVC or something and she turned to me and said, �I feel thinner just for having watched that! It is a good we are both too lazy to grab the phone and call in. We�d be broke.� That is absolute truth.

I agree with Kipp, the naked man on the cover of the book does appear to have an erection and therefore the book will not actually appear in my classroom. That is the last thing is a young man at attention on the cover a book on my desk, not that Floppy Mc Flopperson would be welcome either but the point remains. He is staying home. I am an amazing prude: I put a post-it note over the nakedness on my copy in my office.

I was talking about going to Kinko�s and my point about Kinko�s is this: we are very rude to the professional slackers who work at Kinko�s. Every time I go there a fat, white woman is yelling at someone for something that in the larger scheme of life is meaningless and what truly irritates me about each of these, �I�d like that super-sized� femme adipose is that the always have to add in their professional, which surprisingly is not �Professional Bitch,� but Teacher.

When I am presenting myself as a teacher, when I am representing my school or my church and in general when I am dealing with the real life public I try my hardest to be polite and compassionate to people. I would be horrified if my students treated someone like this and I would feel even worse if they saw me doing that and then used my behavior as an example or excuse.

Perhaps I skipped the day they had the lecture on how to be nasty to people when we were in public. It is appalling and only teachers do that. I guess public school teachers think that because they get no respect in their classrooms that they need to solicit it at Kinko�s. I have news for you, Femme Adipose, it is the same kids, different smock.

I think that if people saw how they treated other people they would be pretty embarrassed.

8:00 PM :: 0 comments so far ::
prev :: next