some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

Mr. Right or Mr. Right Now?

June 18, 2004
Yesterday I took my car to the dealer because he wanted to buy the car back. He gave me a good deal and the terms on the loan for a new car were not that bad either.

I had visions of the sporty new coupe during my ride home. I had picked it out and in my mind, I was zooming around America. Then I looked around at my car, which is my first new car, and decided that I wanted to keep it.

There are a myriad of sentimental reasons for keeping the car but the more important reasons are practical and materialistic.

The first reason I decided to keep the car is that I never drive it. It sits out in front of my apartment day after day, waiting � an unloved dog kept chained behind the house after begging for it and promising to take care of it. Why by a new car just to park it outside the house and rarely use it? There is nothing wrong with the car sitting outside.

The second reason is that I have just paid off the car I have, I would like to see what life is like without a car payment for a couple months. I could make some serious progress on other bills now that there is no car to be concerned about now.

The most important reason is this. Sporty coupe or no, the Saturn is not the car for me. I want a Volkswagen. I learned to drive in a Volkswagen and my favorite car that I have ever drive for a long time was the Jetta. If you were going to buy me any car in the whole would I would not choose any other make of car � it is the model that would be the hard choice. Do I want the might SUV? Do I want a Golf to zip around town in? Do I go for ostentatious and settle on a Passat or Phaeton?

Erin, I would trade you in for a Phaeton and I know that if they took people as payment I would be typing this in a Bentley showroom.

So, I will wait and save up and get the car of my dreams not the car I can afford right now. It is like Garth Brooks sang, �Mr. Right or Mr. Right Now?�

12:13 AM :: 2 comments so far ::
prev :: next