some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

grocery store jerk

February 23, 2004
I�m that guy at the grocery store that you hate. I�m the guy who is impatient because you�re driving down the middle of the lane in the parking lot. I�m the guy who wants you to just pick a grocery cart, carriage, basket, whatever you call it � they�re really all the same and if you�re indecisive you could move over so people can just take one if they�re an �any cart will do� kind of guy. I�m the guy who gets annoyed because you�re friends with and employees and having a personal conversation when everyone else needs that person�s help or would like them to do their job. I�m that person who gets annoyed because your kids are running all over the place, knocking things over and not allowing other people to shop. I�m the guy you hate because I think you should have gotten a sitter for you kids. I�m the guy you hate at the grocery because you, and your cart, can�t block the aisle because I want to shop. I�m the guy you hate at the grocery because after enduring your kids, your driving and your aisle antics I don�t want to talk to you in the checkout lane about how much weight Naomi Judd has put on in the past couple weeks. I am that jerk who puts his cart back in the cart corral instead of loading and leaving so you can have my parking space back in Timbuktu for your SUV.

I�m that jerk at the grocery store. The one who just wants to run in and get those few items and leave. It�s a lot to ask. There should be a bachelor grocery store because I�m the jerk.

10:40 PM :: 2 comments so far ::
prev :: next