some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

spritopias: patron saint of virgins

February 23, 2004
Today was our first day back after the winter holiday. During the week before our holiday there was a second grader who told his parents that the school had a wall with knives built into it. There were sensors built into the wall and they were set so that when he walked by the knives would fly out and kill him. That isn�t the crazy part, the crazy part is: his parents believed him. With this debacle in mind I leaned in to my class to avoid this second grader at all costs and if they had to be near him that they should watch what they did and said.

Today at recess my fifth graders decided that it was important and funny to tell people that they were going to cut them. They didn�t say how or where, just that they�d cut them.

Have you seen, �The Day After�? Do you remember the part where they show the ICBMs leaving their silos? The concrete locks opening, the ICBMs flying out and then closing again? Yeah. That�s honestly what flashed in my eyes when I heard them do it.

I have a lot of patience for my students. They�re kids, they�re young and they�re boys. They need all the help the can get and they got shafted in the teacher department. I don�t have patience for having to say, �I told you so!� Especially in a situation like this one, they were so stupid. So, that was my day � how was yours?

This is my new AIM Buddy Icon:

I am the Patron Saint of Virgins.

5:15 PM :: 5 comments so far ::
prev :: next