some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

king of the hill: funny because it�s true

February 18, 2004
Please check out Diary Land Buzz Net or send a submission to �[email protected]� (I don�t know how to imbed e-mail addresses) we�ll post anyone�s pictures as along as they�re appropriate.

Why am I listed here?

I feel like a racist because I�ve noticed that at Mc Donald�s in New England that I�ve been to are staffed by one ethnic group at a time. I don�t know if that�s so much racist as an observation. I made this observation to someone and they explained to me that in their area (rural Pennsylvania) that people will buy a business like a Mc Donald�s or a 7/11 and then they�ll use that to help people from their home get a start in America. It�s really very noble and while a lot of people don�t like the idea of foreigners having jobs in America or anywhere else, I think that this is great. I still feel like that noticing this was less than P.C., but as I was wrapping my brain around this someone from college sent me an e-mail with her observations about African Americans.

All black people say this and do that. She goes on and on like this and the horror of it all ends up with this: she�s a bigot, doesn�t know it but works with children. I work hard in my class to expel bigotry. I don�t even express my personal political beliefs in Social Studies , which is tough when you�re teaching during an election year and about that election. This really bothers me though that she doesn�t even realize what she was offensive.

Now that I�ve exposed myself as a bigot I�ll tell you what happened after Dan let me out of the trunk of his Golf. We were late back home for dinner but we were late because we had to stop and help this man who was lost. He seemed really stupid and he hit on my cousin while asking for directions. While making unkind comments about him as he drove off we noticed that he was from ONTARIO. We wouldn�t have helped him if we had known he was from Canada. I would have given him directions instead of letting Dan tell him how to get back to New York. Indeed, when we were scolded for being late (and me for being covered in goose feathers) we told his parents that we were tricked into helping a Canadian in a mini-van.

6:27 PM :: 0 comments so far ::
prev :: next