some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

musical chairs

January 07, 2004
Today to learn about competing for resources in nature for Science we used the game �Musical Chairs.� This is what we learned: that was a ridiculously bad idea.

That is not a game for boys. Not so much that they can�t play the game or didn�t enjoy the game, they played it differently than I had anticipated. The game went quick since I disqualified people for shoving others out of their seat, which in the first game happened a lot. They didn�t just compete for the seats: they were ready to fight to the death.

I might have found it comical if it wasn�t so annoying. I don�t like having disruptions in my class like THAT. They�re smarter than that. It�s not like I�m teaching a bunch of twits and the funnier part, at least to me, is that they get along. All those boys are friends. It�s not like Justin was finally taking the opportunity to break Troy�s nose. They were just scuffling for a seat in a game where you�d win nothing at the end.

There are two silver linings in this and the first one is: they got the point. The boys and token the girl got what I wanted them to get. They understood that in a world of limited resources things sometimes get ugly, fast. I wish it weren�t true but the world is an ugly, harsh place that is unfair.

I guess our other silver lining is that the boys are competitive, which is a good thing in my estimation. Too many kids aren�t and have not drive to be good at something or even just successful. I�ve got a cousin who doesn�t even have the drive to do enough just to slip by in life unnoticed. I mean, really: who can�t do that? Who can�t just put out enough effort to be unnoticed?

Oh well, back to the lab again.

New Rings to Rule them All

This page is fortified with 33% Canadian content so that Spritopias might remain a healthy choice for Greg, Jenn, and all our Canadian friends at peelersplace

Spritopias has endorsed Whatley/Plander 2016

3:59 PM :: 1 comments so far ::
prev :: next