some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

if ignorance is bliss, why the hell are you so sad?

January 07, 2004
I�m following the election on the news and in the papers and I find the other Democratic Candidates reactions to Howard Dean to be amusing. They�re running so scared of him that for the Democrat�s own sake he needs to win the nomination so they don�t look like a bunch of pansies. Well, this excludes Kucinich who reminds me of someone I didn�t like from High School.

Enough of that, I have other things irking me.

I read another ill-informed complaint about the Bush Administration and how the people who go to protest against him are cordoned off from his motorcade. Well, that�s standard procedure. We�ve been doing that since long before his father was even president. I think since Johnson.

I also like how people are complaining about security precautions. There really is nothing wrong with finger printing and tracking foreign visitors. I think we should track them all, and I don�t think 1984 is a great illusion to use � people have attacked our country in real and substantial ways.

Is there a better way to do this? I�m sure there is, there always is. Has anyone come up with it? No.

We need to track the people coming in and out of this country. We didn�t before and we�re missing a substantial part of our most important city because of that.

I also like how people ignorantly throw around the term Police State, when the Clinton Administration was much more police state than this one could hope to be. I also like how they throw around �this is the most secretive administration ever� when that is by no means: true, justifiable, quantifiable and cannot be proven. I also like that people cannot name the civil liberties that Attorney General Ashcroft has apparently taken away. I�d like see exactly how they�d do things better because while I have faith in a better way existing faith is the belief in things unseen and the substance of all things hoped for, not much else.

You can roll your eyes at the United States and you can fear it. One of those actions is childish and the other is largely unjustified. Is it Moaist China, Nazi Germany or the USSR that you pine for? Which one? I find it laughable that citizens of the countries that were our partners for decades in keeping the world safe have started to complain about the United States doing what nearly every major power on the planet does.

I�d also appreciate a reasonable argument supporting how we�re making the world unsafe. Really, do you buy that the UN is an organization that is effective in the world? Do you really think that US Policy towards the Middle East, alone, created as extremism movement that predates the American Republic? I guess ignorance is bliss. Keep smiling world, you make me sick.

New Rings to Rule them All

This page is fortified with 33% Canadian content so that Spritopias might remain a healthy choice for Greg, Jenn, and all our Canadian friends at peelersplace

Spritopias has endorsed Whatley/Plander 2016

3:39 PM :: 4 comments so far ::
prev :: next