some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

how I keep a diary

July 03, 2003
A get a lot of notes, e-mails and instant messages from readers expressing their sincere hope that something falls from heaven and smashes me like a bug, leaving a Spritopias paste all over the highway where I would have been driving at the time. I also get a mail asking how I do this diary the way I do.

These are Spritopias� tips on keeping an online diary �

1. Keep a Notebook. Ernest Hemmingway always told groups that he was talking to about writing that you should always having a notebook to write in, Leonardo Da Vinci would tell you the same thing only in Italian. What Hemmingway forgot to tell you was that you should also have a pen.

2. Have an Editorial Board. The Editorial Board of Spritopias wasn�t appointed by said Sprite, but was self-proclaimed. People tell me what to write down and what things I had better forget. I say a lot of things during my day and I�m sure that they�re all funny until Jennifer Neely is shaking her head, �not really.�

3. If the end of your entry includes, �I guess you had to be there,� then go back and re-work it or ditch it.

4. Counter Plagiarism. Read other diaries and find out what doesn�t work for you. I don�t like to read diaries that are just political banter (especially since they are almost always unfunny). Melissa Potter will point out that you already agree with the people you agree with and disagree with those you don�t. In my opinion (which I�ve never claimed was humble) your political attitudes are born of your experiences in life and one of the experiences that shapes political ideology is not reading an online diary.

5. Turn down Evita, Rosie O�Donnell says that listening to that too loud impairs your judgment.

6. Work Elsewhere. Don�t do your entries on Diary Land, do them in a word program and proof read them. I use Microsoft Word and that helps a bit in keeping the errors down. Sure, I still have a great deal of them but can you imagine the mess I�d have without it? Reread before you post and make changes to keep things clean and neat.

7. Allow Feedback. When I started this (go back and read it, it was terrible) I had very little feedback and it shows. Occasionally you need a little audience participation to cultivate and maintain that audience. Focus on what you do well and work on what you do not. You�ll get hate mail but remember that hate mail is sign that you�ve arrived as a writer. My uncle is published author and scholar and he says that is greatest manifestation of success. I was hoping for money, lots of it, but I will take what I get.

That�s what I do. I keep a notebook, have people tell what stinks, rework bad entries, edit your work, keep the Evita down and respect and use your feedback.

I am working on a novel that I pray is not terrible and this diary is a great aid in developing my skills. I hope this helps and doesn�t sound too conceited. Oh, hell, I am conceited so why deny it?

2:27 PM :: 2 comments so far ::
prev :: next