some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

coatroom chaos

January 22, 2004
Today a kid in my class wouldn�t shut up. I moved him all over the room. From the front row to the back row, from the fifth grade side to the fourth, I put him on the back of the classroom on our table that we use group projects I put him next to my desk, in front of my desk, at my desk. Nothing worked to get this kid NOT to talk to someone in the room even if they weren�t responding.

I have a coatroom in my classroom. It�s not really a coatroom but a dividing wall that is dominated by a window so the teacher can see into it.

I put him and his desk in the coatroom. He sat there, at this desk and stared at me for the rest of the day (a whopping hour and a half).

After school I was in the office in an impromptu faculty meeting and the phone rang. It was the boy�s mother she wanted to ask why I had put him in the coatroom. I explained why I had done it. She said, �I don�t think it was fair to my child.�

Did you hear that? Listen closer next time because that subtle crack was me opening up a can of Spritopias on her ass.

I said, �It�s not like I hung him up on a peg. I know he feels it was unfair to be placed away from the group and his feelings were hurt. However, what�s fair for the group isn�t always fair for the group.�

She said, �Did you ever stop to consider his feelings?�

I replied, �Sure, I do. Did you ever stop to consider that I have to consider his education and not just his feelings? Did you ever stop to consider that I have to stop and consider the feelings and educations of the other boys and girl in the room? Sometimes I have to do things that aren�t kind but in the long run are what is the best interest of your child and the rest of the students? I did what I did to help him. If he is free from distraction he�s better equipped to learn.�

I guess I didn�t think of that way.

No, I guess you didn�t, did you.

I�m continually amazed by people who can�t see the world beyond their own front door.

This page is fortified with 33% Canadian content so that Spritopias might remain a healthy choice for Greg, Jenn, and all our Canadian friends at peelersplace

Spritopias has endorsed Whatley/Plander 2016

9:13 PM :: 5 comments so far ::
prev :: next