some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

be nice to cotton plants

December 02, 2003
Today was our first school day with snow. I wore my snowflake sweater from Abercrombie and Fitch to celebrate this event in the weather. Primary grade students react to that in a positive way, we don�t dress fruity because we enjoy it � there is a lesson involved in everything.

I bring up the sweater, not because I look like a giant six-year-old in this sweater but because people don�t like Abercrombie and Fitch and think I shouldn�t wear their stuff because their parent corporation is evil.

What clothing company is righteous? No one can tell me that. I heart capitalism but corporations aren�t by nature righteous entities, they make money and that is rarely a kind process. Where then should I buy my clothing? Should I grow my own cotton and cultivate my own sheep so that I could make my own cloth and then clothing?

I could make my own cloth and then my own clothing but lets be honest, I�d oppress the cotton plants and then I�d be just as bad as those job providing corporations that never pretended to be anything BUT multinational corporations out to make money. If you want to be a good, good person and not buy those things go ahead but don�t expect me to care for one second about the plight of others when there is no plausible alternative AND I don�t think for a minute that my refusal to buy things from a company HELPS workers, it only HURTS them. There are better ways to be the change in the world you want to see.

It�s this or nudity folks and it boils down to, �The oppression you see and the oppression you hear about.�

5:59 PM :: 2 comments so far ::
prev :: next