some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

Christmas in April!

April 25, 2005
Spring Break is over. I could use another week but I only have seven more weeks of school. I can do this. The children can do this. I could use another day of sleeping, not sleeping in, just sleeping.

This is the first break where I did not devote an entire day to sleeping and I regret that. My body tried to do that Friday, but I had family visiting on Saturday so it did not work out.


I was thinking about the Michael Jackson case, really I was making fun of Padre Pietro, and I mused, �How did they find a jury of his peers and who consented to being lumped into that group? I am not sure that I think Michael Jackson is guilty, not nearly as guilty as the pimp-your-kid parents accusing him are; but I do think that he is definitely bizarre, not eccentric, bizarre.

That would have been my path out of Jury Duty, I would have flat out told the judge, �I really do not wish to be ever considered that man�s peer.� Although the best way to get out of that jury duty would probably have been to appear for the screening in full dictator uniform, arm-in-arm with pre-teen, chimpanzee in tow, and yes, Liza Minnelli.

I enjoy salacious gossip as much as the next diarist, but I would not enjoy his trial. Hearing graphic descriptions of how he allegedly abused those children does not sound like fun. I giggle when I get nervous, humor is my reaction to everything, and the converse idea of not being able to ask questions to trip up witnesses and prosecutors would be unnerving for me. I shout out the answers in Jeopardy and my own questions at Law & Order. I would feel compelled to do it in court.

I would at least pop out a couple, �whateva�, hmph or �Bitch, Please!�. I can imagine at some point, Judge Ito announcing, �Spritopias, would you shut up?� or at least, �You cannot post to diary land from here!�


Pretending I do not have to work today will not allow me to miss going. I hope everyone enjoyed their April Vacation/Spring Break. It is Christmas in April, my gift is apparently ten-year-old boys I�m sorry Mr. Jackson, but I am for real.

Also, Thank God that
Yvonne has returned.

7:32 AM :: 2 comments so far ::
prev :: next