some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

it cuts like a knife

February 18, 2005

Today, while I was on my field trip with my students to see Because of Winn-Dixie the grandmother who accompanied us on the field trip said that I should find a better place to park my car. I commented that nothing had happened to my car in a year, but that now that I had said it, something would happen to my car. I was thinking today�s comedy would be my overpayment on my city taxes being remitted to me in postage stamps, but I was wrong.

When I went to go to my second job I noticed that one of my tires was completely flat. My first thought was that it had been slashed, but who slashes one tire? I called my part time job and AAA to get the ball rolling for what would be a long night.

I had to call AAA, I do not know how to change a tire and they do, I pay a great deal of money for them to change my tires. My experience with AAA is that they do good work, on their own time. I called my part time job to apprise them of my situation and while I was on the phone, the man arrived to change my tire. It took him less than ten minutes to remove the old tire and put the spare on.

Yes, I should learn to change a tire.

I went to Sears, because that is where I buy my tires. Sears is nationwide and I travel a great deal, I need to know that I can take my car anywhere and have my warranties honored. At first, I could not find my receipt so I feared that I would have to buy the new tire and not have my warranty honored, the prospect of buying new tires was daunting. I have just paid my bills but was between the time of the money being removed from my checking account and applied to my lines of credit.

My father insisted this summer when I bought the new tires that I get the hazard insurance. I was not so sure about this because I do not like to spend money wisely and getting hazard insurance is money well spent. In my prior experience, I have not had good luck with warranties being honored without a great deal of hassle. The man at Sears assured me that if I found the receipt they would credit my account.

I went back to the car to get my cellular phone and chuck my magazine in the backseat. I checked on more time for the receipt, I had it in the glove compartment, and my new tires were paid for by said warranty and I was bumped to the top of the line with the status this warranty entailed.

When the technician looked at the old tire, he pointed out that it had been slashed and I said, �Who slashes one tire? Why do I always get the LAZY vandal?� Really, if I were going slash your tires and inconvenience you I am going to slash them all.


I chatted it up with Suburban Island and then my God Parents while waiting for my car, and then finally settled back into the waiting room, where I had to endure Flava Flave yacking into his cell phone and then listening to music on his headphones so loudly that you could hear it. I have this prejudice that if you have little white earphones, I think you have class. If you are wearing ear muffs I think you are trash. I have the extra special super bass iPod earphones. There was this cute girl there and we were making fun of Flava Flave trying to hit on her by showing off his flashy cell phone and portable CD player.

A free hint boys: if you are going show off a camera phone have funny pictures. Midgets with mullets, freaks of nature, or poorly worded signs work great. Just having one does nothing for you.

Well, we decided that to show that we could hear his music and thought he was ridiculous, we would dance to his music. It was my idea and I am constantly amazed that random strangers will go along with my ideas. So, we got up and starting dancing like a pair of spazzes (or is it spazi?), to the amusement of all, when the tech came in and said, �Sir, your car is ready.� I was really glad to get the reason to leave because Flava Flave was eventually wise to the fact that we were not displaying a rate Hebrew/Spanish mating dance and mocking him.

No, I did not get her number. She was married.

My car was aligned, for free (a service of new tires purchasing). It drives like a dream (again), albeit a bad one.

I called my father on the way home to let him know that we do listen to him and he was right. It happens so rarely that I felt it was of monumental importance to fill him in.

9:35 PM :: 2 comments so far ::
prev :: next