some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

Compassionate Conservative

January 02, 2005
Question: What is the National Anthem of Diary Land?
What I learned: Don�t loose your grip on your dreams from the past, you must fight just to keep them alive

Somewhere on the other side of the planet people have lost their homes, members of their families and had their means of making a living destroyed.

I returned to my home here in Connecticut to discover that a tragedy had occurred here as well. My DVD player will not play DVDs. I tried my latest installment from Blockbuster Online Faux NetFlix, and when that did not work.

I moved onto Empire Records which is one of my favorite movies and that too did not work. I decided that this film may or may not work because we only watch that movie and then get drunk or get drunk in the process. I really cannot tell you how many times we have done this or how the movie ends since I have watched the movie many times but only once sober. Empire Records It is entirely possible that something is wrong with that DVD, and not player.

I plugged in About Schmidt and when that did not work I decided that it must be the DVD player or keeping the DVDs on the radiator was a bad idea.

So, the money I was going to send to the tsunami victims will now go towards a new DVD player. In the end, this is what is best for them. I am pretty sure my DVD player was made in a country that was hard hit by that tsunami. I will make sure the new one is too. You can give a man a fish and he will eat fish one day, you can teach a man to fish and hope he lives near the water.

If I send the money to those countries, it is unfortunately, not going to help that many people and will end up in the pockets of the oppressive governments who did not think enough of the people who lived on their coast lines to put up a warning system akin to the one in the Pacific Ocean built by the United States and the Empire of Japan.

I figure that by providing a job to a person in Indonesia, Thailand, or India that would have otherwise gone to some red blooded American is the best that I can do for them in this time of crisis.

**I am contributing to the agencies aiding the victims. I am being silly.

10:53 PM :: 0 comments so far ::
prev :: next