some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

96% of American Kids recognize Ronald Mc Donald but only 46% recognize President Bush

December 26, 2004
I was watching VH1 and Joel Stein from Time Magazine was on �I love the 80s� and I am sure that he is on this program all the time but I just connected �political analyst who writes at the fourth grade level� and �VH1� and I am not sure if I should feel enlightened or ignorant.

This parent rocks my world, got more bounce than jehri curl. Honestly, I want this person to be everyone�s dad.

Yesterday my father and I decided to go out and see if there was anything we forgot to buy. We had our shopping done, but you never know what is going to be on sale last minute. Here it was pretty bad because the snow kept so many shoppers from the stores so many things had been reduced to move. On one road the line to TURN INTO Wal Mart went through three traffic lights. We do not go to Wal Mart, I am just saying.

Well, we were going to use my car because my car was the last one in the driveway. My car would not start yesterday morning. I called triple A, because I pay a small fortune for them to help me out in a crisis. I apparently pay a lot of money for them to tell me I am out of luck. I could have had that service for FREE. I could also fix my own car, but let us be honest. I am a J.A.P., and I am loath to pump my own gas. I am not going to fix something in my own car. Even if I knew how, I would leave that to someone else. Nothing good can come of me using tools.

We decided to unearth my sister�s Honda from a foot of ice and snow since it was parked next to the other cars and not in the line with them. Yes, my sister rolls a Honda. She does not play workout tapes by Fonda. There is a motor in the front, not back of her Honda. I broke two ice scrapers getting the snow/ice off her car. I did discern that since it was a sheet of ice that using crow-bar action would be the most expedient. It worked wonders.

Taking her car is an adventure. We have a love/hate relationship with this Honda. It loves to break down and hates to work when you need it to. Knowing this, my father and I dug the car out of the snow and ice, drove it over the lawn (never breaking the ice covering the lawn) and to the Mall, which is furthest from our house but still in our town.

We found some additional gifts for my mother and sister. I also used some of my gift cards from friends so I would have something to open on Christmas since my parents rocked IKEA during their last visit to my house for my Christmas presents.

You would be amazed at the driving ability of the people in this town. I was not aware that you could flip a mini van (without denting it) or that four-wheel drive made you omnipotent, omnipotent not enough to drive over the snow banks.

It was crazy. We were out in a tiny Honda.

Christmas was great. I will write more about that later, but I want to take a nap.

Happy Christmas.

3:24 PM :: 2 comments so far ::
prev :: next