some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

sprint pcs: asian jingle

October 30, 2004
At my second job we are not allowed to have our cellular phones on while we are working and our boss prefers us to be �out of sight, out of mind� when we are on a break or off the clock, in uniform and on the phone. I appreciate this, it looks bad for your business to have me chatting it up on my cell phone, in uniform where people would connect me to my conversation to my employer.

Her assistant, Joseph, the one we called, �little Saddam� not only has his cellular phone on but if she is not there he will take the call. I sometimes make the mistake of leaving my cellular phone on while I am at work and on two occasions, I have answered it. If Jeremy or Dan phones, I answer it. Whatever they are doing is cooler than work, hands down.

So, on Thursday my phone went off three times before I could take out my phone and shut it off. It was on one of the occasions that Joseph caught me and started into me about turning my cell phone off, not taking calls, etc. It rang in my pocket in the grill area, for that offense I should be tossed into the deep fryer.

Later that night I was moved to the front counter, in an example of how not to lead, Joseph�s cell phone goes off and so do I. Using my best Eddie Haskell, I say, �Joey, you know we are not supposed to have our cell phones on when we are on the clock, you are setting a bad example for the teenagers and those of us who act like teenagers by leaving it on.� My manager was all about that and said, �Yeah, Joe, he�s right � you need to shut that off.�

We have the same phone and ringer, Joe and I. We both picked, �Asian Jingle.� He thought the ringer was cool, I thought it was dorky. I picked the dorky ringer as to differentiate my phone from yours. This does no good, I always just assume that any phone ringing is my phone.

So, when our Manager left for the night, I kept setting my phone off. This caused much dissent in the ranks because Joseph�s phone was going off, but he would get on our case for it. It took two times for the rest of the crew to realize that I was setting my own phone off and that it was not Josephs. Unfortunately, Joseph did not figure it out for two hours.

He said, �WHY DO YOU KEEP DOING THAT?� I replied, �I cannot help it if I have Asia in my pants.�

It was in that moment I realized that my life was boring.

He told me I had to stop it but he could not seem to get Matt to stop whistling the jingle to him self, which was funnier than my cell phone doing it for him.

The lesson I learned was, if you are not having fun at your job your job will be having fun at you.

1:04 PM :: 3 comments so far ::
prev :: next