some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

daylight crazy time

October 31, 2004
I would like to announce the launch, somewhat late, of my new BLOG, Urban Oasis .


Day Light Savings time is something that I could skip. The whole, extra hour of sleep is not worth the distress to my biorhythm � which is the only rhythm this white man has.

I was researching why we do Day Light Savings time, and it boils down to transportation patterns and resource conservation. More daylight means less electricity used but I think in this age of energy efficient appliances that we could lose the stress to our bodies and gain some on our electric bills. Honestly, is one half hour with the lights off really going to save that much and if it is then perhaps we need to work harder to find a solution to our energy needs.

Humans can adjust their biorhythms, some of them at least, however livestock cannot change those rhythms and so it is a frustration for farmers and the animals.

I also learned that it is a common misconception that Benjamin Franklin came up with the idea for day light savings; someone else gave him the idea. Some historians are leading me to believe that Benjamin Franklin was the Martha Stewart of his day, an excellent salesman profiting from promoting the ideas of others rather than developing his own.

Regardless of the origin of day light savings time, it is day light crazy time and it needs to be stopped.

11:28 AM :: 2 comments so far ::
prev :: next