some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

is it seven, or six?

October 26, 2004
In seven days Senator John Kerry will be elected President of the United States � does anyone support him yet or are we all still opposing President Bush for reasons we are unable to articulate (without contradicting the choice of Senator Kerry)?

My favorite comment of this election is, �you should not take your faith with you into your job.� Well, if you are not taking your faith with you everywhere you go, then it is no faith at all. This brings it down to a rhetorical difference but if you truly believed in a faith/religion/philosophy it would permeate everything you did, you could not help but bring it to work.

I do not discount the fact that people use religion as a campaign prop, but the idea on face that you can separate your decision making from your religious ideas is absurd. In that instance where you would say, �My faith as a (Christian, Jew, Muslim, or, Buddhist) does not come into my mind when I decide�� I would counter that with the argument that your faith was just a label and nothing more. You would be like the Pharisee who left me notes about being a better Christian than I am. Your �faith� or �religion� is like Donald Trump�s hair or Pam Anderson�s breasts � merely an attention getter but not the substance of your person.

I have also read from three different sources that �nuclear� can be pronounced either way.

In even more irrelevant news I heard from three Democratic pollster/activist/talking heads that the American people are not ready to trade in Laura Bush for Theresa Heinz Scary Kerry. This may or may not be true, and I will never discount the importance of a person�s spouse but I will mock anyone who supports or opposes a candidate with the basis of to whom they are married. Theresa Heinz Kerry would have admit to worshiping the devil by doing horrible things to children and then eating them before I would say, �I cannot vote for her husband on that basis alone.�

I also disagree with calling Mrs. Bush �too Stepford,� I do not think that is a fair analysis. She is not Hillary Rodham Clinton and her agenda is different. The lack of a loud mouth does not make you a doormat just as being bitch does not make you smart, opinionated, and funny � or vise versa.

However, I have downloaded the Jib Jab to share with the internet free teachers and need to run along and do that before kids start arriving.

7:34 AM :: 6 comments so far ::
prev :: next