some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

all the responsibility with none of the fun

September 15, 2004
The other day at morning recess I was standing outside with the kids, minding the Kindergarten � really moderating the �who is better� debate between Batman and Spiderman. There is no debate; clearly: Spiderman is better than Batman is.

During this moderation one of my students notices that a boy who lives across the street and waits for his boyfriend to pick him up for school. He notices that, honestly, this kid dresses like Michael Jackson from the 1980s: red leather jacket, tight black pants, etc.

Well, this student needs to point this person and mention it to me, but at the top of his voice. �Mr. S that person looks like Michael Jackson before he was white.�

I do not need my own kids. I have students to embarrass me in public.

Teaching: it is like having your own kids but without regretting the sex that made them, in other words � all the responsibility with none of the fun.

8:38 PM :: 5 comments so far ::
prev :: next