some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

Peking Duck looks good and it isn�t a metaphor for anything

September 16, 2004
I do not get a chance to tell many jokes but today at work, I did. I do not remember what my joke was even at this point because the other teacher had to explain to me why my own joke was funny. When she was done, my joke was no longer funny. I wanted to cry.

I am so busy with school. This year I have four more students than last year and the jump has added a lot of work to my day. It is hard to believe but it has. I am not a fan of this extra work but the parents offer more support this year than last.

Also, I was reading an interview with Vice-President Gore in the New Yorker. Part of me feels bad for him, his loss must be disappointing for him, but he reminds me of Ulysses in my class who does not loose well. When you accept that the predetermined rules are fair or at least predetermined then you can deal with the fact that you did not win. You lost.

I was thinking about the Assault Gun Ban or whatever that was. I am glad it is gone. My reason for disliking it was that beyond it not actually banning guns and not banning dangerous or powerful guns � just scary looking guns; the law does not stop CRIMINALS from getting guns it stops CITIZENS from having guns. Like it or not we have a constitutional right to bear arms so if you are going to start infringing on our rights you might as well DO A GOOD JOB OF IT.

10:29 PM :: 4 comments so far ::
prev :: next