some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

is our teachers learning

March 15, 2004
I know I�m well educated but I�m not always sure how well educated I am. This weekend at the teacher�s conference I realized again how well educated I am and that I do indeed have common sense. I wonder what life is like without it?

At this conference the big thing they wanted to teach us was parent/teacher relationship skills. This to me was amazing because the information we were being presented was patently obvious information. I wondered if these people had any sense at all or if they�d been to college.

Always say something nice about the child during a parent-teacher conference. This was the first bit of information they gave us as if this were a deep insight. You could see the popcorn effect moving across the room as the presenter�s brilliance hit them. Who doesn�t know to say something positive during an evaluation of someone�s work or child? It�s like these people never watched �Animal Kingdom� on the Disney Channel and missed all those mother animals killing anything that got between them and their offspring. It�s frightening to view ignorance like that.

There were other things that they covered that someone might need to here like, if you hurt someone�s feelings you should apologize whether you meant to or not. The people that might need to be taught that include: toddlers and mongoloids.

�Is our children learning?� No, they aren�t. Not if people under the age of four or sporting an extra chromosome are teaching them. This isn�t only in my district but all over.

It makes you wonder what the people who didn�t pass the screening to be a teacher are like. Scary.

3:10 PM :: 3 comments so far ::
prev :: next