some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

Is �homeboy� one word or two?

March 10, 2004
Today I taught the boys, �Relax your jaw, breath through your nose and keep your teeth clear.� When everyone has the stomach flu, �how to vomit� becomes a vital lesson.

Today all the girls in my class were out sick. We only have one but you�d be amazed at how the lack of estrogen in a classroom will lower the drama level to nothing.

Two boys were sick today in class, I was sick too. I had to rearrange my classroom to separate the quick for the dead. I put all the sick kids in the back row (of two rows) and put one of the trashcans in between them. One of the boys threw up into the trashcan and kept working.

We took the trashcan with us to chapel. We took the trashcan with us to lunch and I kept the sick kids in with me during recess, insuring that we wouldn�t get any worse and just share our germs with each other.

I hate being sick. I can�t focus on anything. I can�t get anything done.

I had enough wax in my ears to make a candle this morning when I cleaned them. I started to wonder if Micah in third grade was hiding his nasal treasures in my ear. That boy always has a finger in his nose. I shudder to think what homeboy does when no one is looking.

10:34 PM :: 2 comments so far ::
prev :: next