some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

bitter, self-righteous entry

February 04, 2004
Yesterday�s entry gave a false impression that I was unhappy and I�m sorry, that isn�t what�s up.

Today has been a very bad day. This is a bitter, self-righteous entry so if you�re not into that come back later.

The school day wasn�t exceptional or notable until the last hour when I had finally had it up to here with the fifth graders and yelled at them, and it wasn�t really yelling, it was bellowing. It started out as me calmly reprimanding students who wouldn�t stop talking and start working but when the class clown decided to talk back to me I started to raise my voice and by the end of it I was pushing myself up on my desk with my fists, the vein in my forehead that I got from Dad for graduation had popped out and my face was red.

Parents who let their kids talk back to them, I have something to say to you, Fuck you, fuck you very much. I know all kids at one point or another talk back. I�ve even done it despite the lack of statute of limitations on the fourth commandment. I�ve done it despite the fact that the Major can kill a man seven ways with his bare hands and make it look accidental. I, however, never once got away with. It was not tolerated and it did not go unanswered.

I know it happens to the best parents, I�m talking to the parents who LET their children do this, to the parents who have allowed this to become a part of their daily life. You are the parent. They are the children. You are in charge. This means that they are not your friends. This means they are not your equals. You�re not doing them any favors by letting them walk all over you. You are not just hurting them, yourself and your family but you�re screwing society, as a whole, over by your deplorable lack of parenting skills. Fuck you for it, you inconsiderate asshole.

There are not enough expletives in the English Language to describe what happened when I got home from school. I got this email when I got home (the italics are my commentary:

Subject: CU Alumni

Date2/4/2004 12:48:25 PM Eastern Standard Time

Hello everyone! I hope you all are doing well. read: "I only contact people when they have something I want" I'm emailing in regard to a new list-serve for Concordia, Seward alumni. I wouldn�t wish Concordia on my worst enemy. In an attempt to keep in better contact with CU alumni, the alumni council (of which I am a member) and the alumni office have developed a list-serve to communicate with alumni. This is NOT for the purposes of soliciting money,How stupid do I look? The purpose of an Alumni Association is to solicit money. but instead as an avenue to develop a better relationship between the institution and its alumni. If that were possible, what a world it would be! They turn orphans into homeless people but will graduate someone they know is a sex offender, place him in a classroom and lie to the school that hires him about his record in the name of the Gospel. It�s God�s word, not toilet paper. If you are interested in being a subscriber to this list-serve, please sign up at the following link. Also, if you feel so inclined, please forward this to any other CU alumni that you are in contact with in case they might also be interested in signing up. Thanks a lot!I�ll admit I did send it on but it will be a cold day in deepest, darkest hell before I send them two pennies to rub together for warmth.

http://lists.cune.edu/mailman/listinfo/alumni-news

M*

College was only three years ago for me but it seems like a million. I�m sure that I�ve said it before but I wouldn�t wish my college on anyway. My cousin Meredith said my college was psycho and as much as I hate to and as much hell I�ll catch from Dan for saying this, �Meredith is right.�

I think I regret, more than anything and especially today, going there for school when I had better options of education and vocation. I thought I wanted to be a teacher but I�m not so sure.

Sometimes the existential benefits of being a teacher are genuine and other days it�s bullshit I feed myself because I can�t afford groceries. It�s a miserable, thankless job and for those of you who say they support teachers, I�ll see you when it�s time to pass a bond issue or raise property tax to fund schools. I�m so stupid for becoming a teacher, why would you want to go to college to be someone else�s servant until you died?

End Note

So I sent this out to about fifty people, without my commentary, and I got a reply that I need to try harder to get people to like the college. Burn that shit to the ground, I�d pay to see that.

I don�t know why these people rattle my cage and then get mad when I bite them.

7:25 PM :: 3 comments so far ::
prev :: next