some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

If you're Lutheran and you know it, close your mind.

January 13, 2004
I am really disappointed at how close-minded some of my friends from college are. I thought my college was incredibly draconian and that the Seminary we feed into was too until I realized that it wasn�t the institution, it was the students and it�s still the students.

Okay, the administration is draconian too but I think it�s the function of college administrations to be business-minded and conservative. The faculty was open minded, diverse and interesting it was the students who were stuck in the nineteen-fifties. They go way back to when Elizabeth Dole�s hair was a scandal.

My friends are in graduate school, I got a job and maybe grew up a little but, Good Lord.

One of my debate partners* is the biggest case in point I could make. Everyone who disagrees with him is wrong, stupid and probably going to Hell for it. He takes my, �whatever� attitude towards people I disagree with to whole new level. Normally if I have disagreement with someone the entire planet isn�t in crisis but with this guy it is.

It�s disturbing because once you start assuming everyone is in peril of eternal damnation when they disagree with me. What kind of pastor is he going to make? Perhaps I should become a Methodist. At least in the United Methodist Church there is room for different opinions. In the Lutheran Church � Missouri Synod there is only �I�m right, you�re a heretic.� The baffling part about this particular debate partner is the fact that in most instances his position in an argument is ignorant, the left side of doctrine or just plain wrong. I�d have to mate with Lynne Cheney to get someone who can be more brash and arrogant and even then it would be a crapshoot.

It�s time like this that I miss my non Lutheran friends because one thing you can count on Jeremy to do is to say, �No, Christopher you�re wrong.� At the drop of a hat and Emily to say but with tact and wit.

*I had about a dozen debate partners in college. I�m like plaid pants; you need to be the right person to carry this look off.

Kipp Rules, Jesus from the Block is running hard at 5.6%

This page is fortified with 33% Canadian content so that Spritopias might remain a healthy choice for Greg, Jenn, and all our Canadian friends at peelersplace

Spritopias has endorsed Whatley/Plander 2016

3:29 AM :: 1 comments so far ::
prev :: next