some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

Pineapple Under the Sea

October 09, 2003
(So far�) This week at Saint Spritopias School for Boys:

Marcus Aurelius locks his backpack so people don�t steal his Game Boy or his games, which might be a good idea if there weren�t only seven kids in our class and Mom didn�t drive him to school.

Well, my smartest student locked his backpack Tuesday morning and left the key at home. What a joy. We have a competition (where ever two or more boys a gather a competition is there also) about who can earn the most stickers. You get a sticker for turning in all of your homework and you get a sticker for going above and beyond the Call of Duty. Marcus Aurelius has a lead on the other boys but his margin isn�t that great and he�d prefer a commanding lead to winning by a nose. Not having access to his homework was in his words, �a catastrophe.�

I�ve never met more serious fourth graders in my whole life. Ulysses is especially serious and it grates on my fifth graders that the fourth grade is so anal retentive that it has to stand for fear they�ll take in the furniture. I�ve started calling them each, Sponge (First Name) (Last Name) Pants and the fifth grade has told the first grade that we actually go to school in a Pineapple Under the Sea. The only one the name has stuck on has been Sponge Ulysses Grant Pants, he�d like to burn me like I was Savannah.

However, my kids are a lively bunch and the Music Teacher cannot control them at all. I have my thumb on them but she can�t seem to get SEVEN kids to cooperate. Can you imagine that? Even seven bad kids or seven stupid kids should be manageable but I have six reasonably intelligent, nice boys and a girl who is a piece of work but still cooperative. This woman is a monstrosity of a teacher according to Marcus Aurelius who above all Hobbits is depended upon to behave. He gets kicked out of class and where does he go?

She doesn�t really send them anywhere, just out. I�m legally responsible for their safety and welfare, not to mention I�d have anything that happened to them on my conscience (I do have one, she lives in San Antonio and teaches Language and Fine Arts). Tomorrow I�m going to Music class to see what the hell her problem is, I may have to open a can of Spritopias on her ass and not just because I�m bored.

She ruins my happy little world. My kids are good and happy until she gets her claws on them. We�ll fix that.

12:44 AM :: 3 comments so far ::
prev :: next