some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

What happens at Winn-Dixie, Stays at Winn-Dixie

February 18, 2005
Today we went on a field trip to see Because of Winn-Dixie. at the movie theatre. The students really enjoyed the book, it was okay but nothing I would get too excited about. I was hesitant to read the book because I had judged the book by the cover. I had a terrible fear the book was about the grocery store and anyone who has been to Winn-Dixie can tell you, it is a filthy place. My feeling on it was: What happens at Winn-Dixie, stays at Winn-Dixie. The book was okay, I am glad I made the class read it because they enjoyed it and if they enjoy the book they will do the work associated with it.

I only had eight students and one chaperone on the trip so it was an easy ride to the theatre, my students could have been automatons the way they stayed in formation, obey and basically outshined the public school students who were crawling and climbing around the theatre like monkeys. I am confident that they were not from a Catholic Schools because we all know that the Sisters of Saint Benedict took a vow of no bullshit from kids.

The other difference between my students and the ones from a more public setting was that mine were allowed to choose their snack from the concession stand; the public school kids were not. I accidentally instigated a riot when one of my students bought the trashcan of popcorn (remarkably refillable!) and carried it over his head and the crowd with his friend holding his soda and sour skittles. The trashcan of popcorn was emptied twice, refilled once. I would allow them one refill. I have not eaten that much popcorn in the past five years. I do not know if I should be disgusted or proud of him. I think I will give him a Gold Star for today, because his nine year arteries took a beating today and he might not return after the (one week!) February Recess.

The most amazing event was in the popcorn line when this student from another school who was also retarded threw his soda in his teacher�s face and dumped his popcorn on the ground, this becomes amazing when she took his containers up to be REPLACED AND REFILLED. I would be damned, and my hobbits did not ask the woman, �What�s wrong with him?� They asked, �What�s wrong with YOU? [Pointing at me] He�d call our parents, kill us and never take us on a field trip again.� All of this is true, except for the kill part. I prefer people to be in permanent vegetable states to ponder for decades their bitterness toward me. You should have seen the faces on those hobbits, they really had it in for that teacher. Allowing him to walk all over her like that, and retarded or no, she is allowing it by getting him a refill to do it again.

Thank you, God, for the blessing that is my class.

3:32 PM :: 5 comments so far ::
prev :: next