some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

beware the ides of december

December 15, 2004
Today I ordered my subscription to The Atlantic Monthly and noticed on my coupon to get the subscription at a low, low prices that the price was good on international subscriptions as well so I ordered one for my cousin in a far off place in the Peace Corps. So, at a savings of forty dollars, my cousin will be getting two month old Atlantic Monthly magazines in her tropical paradise.

I also was able to snag the Christmas present that one of my students would not otherwise be getting it this year. I should not buy them things like this but I could not resist. I was the kid you made fun of for not having the best things when I was in elementary and middle school. Material possessions do not make you happy but fitting in with the other kids can make you less miserable in life.

Our students do not equate things with popularity of the lack of it. I hope that sentence makes sense. I teach the most accepting children on the planet. ( read more on this topic) I am very lucky to teach a class that does not fight each other, and they are nice to each other. If they can do it, the rest of us can too.

If you would like to see a ghost of holiday past, read here: Click here to go to the most traumatic story ever!. This is an early work so it is not that great, and I have edited it to fix the typos I noticed.

12:23 AM :: 1 comments so far ::
prev :: next