some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

Today was the first day of school.

September 08, 2004
I have eleven students and it was rumored that I was going to have twelve. Twelve students, instead of eleven, changes �students� to �disciples,� �classroom,� to �cult.� I had my good Birkenstocks on just in case I had the opportunity to have a Messiah complex. I did not. I am a little disappointed.

Ten students filed in on time and one was half an hour late. The parent of the late student gave me a speech before school started about being my staunchest supporter on the School Board, to which I commented that I did not know I had a lack of support. Expressions of support and felicity this early on, before I have gotten my controversy on usually tells me, �this parent is trying to use me as a pawn.� I marked my first ever tardy. They can support me and advocate for me by sending their kid into my class on time and not expecting �good old boy� special treatment.

The kids were good, except for one karate demonstration gone awry, and I think they enjoyed the first day of school. We started the day with donuts from �Dunkin� Donuts� because �Krispy Kreme� donuts are for people who do not know better. This is Connecticut; we do it right.

I also gave them an hour of homework I was going to top that off with a visit to the beach but those stupid hurricanes are wrecking our weather � not to mention stranding three of our students in Florida. We get a bunch of rain and blown about leaves, and ruined beach days.

I wanted a big �back to school� issue but right now my �back to school issue� is grading. Fifth Grade Math, Represent!

9:03 PM :: 8 comments so far ::
prev :: next