some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

finally, a "GW" that everyone can agree to love

August 30, 2004

a �GW� that everyone can love

Today was a day of gifts to Spritopias from golfwidow. I received a pin in the mail that sets me apart as a member of her Pretend Internet Boy Harem, and Gmail. I have been playing on Gmail for most of the day.

Odd, others sent me invitations today as well � after I had received Golf Widow�s. I thank each one of you. There are only six invites per user (at least I have only six to give away, and have) and it was generous to share yours with me.

However, mailed labeled with the word �harem� in my box (since my mail goes to my office) was quite the topic of gossip today. Does he have a harem? Is he in a harem? What is the air-speed velocity of an unladen swallow? Swallow? I thought only NICE girls did that? Oh, the bird! African or European?

All kidding aside we come to two conclusions. With each passing moment Golf Widow makes me more her bitch AND Golf Widow is a GW on which we can all agree

snake in the grass, pain in my�

I was watching the news this morning and they showed Michael Moore protesting in New York, more important than that � he was marching with the protesters. I had no idea that he could move under his own power, much less walk up right. I was sure that lying snakes slithered around on the ground. I had always taken Moore for a boa constrictor that ate too much because when you see him on TV he is large but when he is on the covers of his movies, books and on his movie posters he is about my weight. The jump and drop in size MUST be from eating animals whole like a boa constrictor.

this is the pot, calling the kettle

I read the most pretentious web page ever. It was linked via Golf Widow, and apparently, it is the BLOG of an au pair who was running amok in America and plagiarizing other people�s pages.

I know I am pretentious but this was ridiculous. She had a list (it has since disappeared) that cataloged words that only people from the United Kingdom or Australia could use. One of them was biscuit in reference to cookies, a word that I use when they are from Godiva (because those are the only cookies I buy AND it says biscuit on the package) but I read on a little of this page before going to work this morning and realized that she had a lot of awful things to say about America and Americans.

I have noticed this about anti-American sentiment: right back at you. Every complaint I have heard someone voice about America can be attributed to that person�s home country as well. If that is not the case then usually the particular vice is illegal in their speaker or writer�s home country.

There are manyt negative things you can say about America that are true. However, the idea that Americans are loud, obnoxious, and over indulged is laughable coming from Continental Europeans. You have yet to experience yourself. We don�t normally see ourselves or our culture from the outside looking in but I think if more people got the chance to they would realize that our cultures are not so different and that other people are not so superior.

I have an example.

I love Italy. After Germany, Italy is my favorite country on continental Europe. The people are friendly and laid back; the country is beautiful and inviting. Honestly, if you EVER have to choose between Paris and Rome, go to Rome. Between Rome and the Vatican you will see so much beautiful art, architecture and scenery coupled with the nicest people in a large European city you are bound to have a great experience.

I also love subways, buses, trains, and all other forms of public transportation. You get to experience people and the local culture in the strangest and most interesting ways.

I was in Rome (where I would live if I spoke Italian) and on a subway late at night. I was with some friends from college on a trip and we were heading back to our hotel. There were many Americans in the city that week as it was during the window of Spring Break opportunity. It had been a week of embarrassments for us, as Americans, because we noticed that so many of our fellow citizens were out, being dumb. Our group had made a effort before our trip to not appear to be ugly Americans. We were not ashamed of who we were, we just did not want to fulfill anyone�s stereotypes and perhaps crush them with some subtle class and charm.

Our group was quietly, but excitedly chatting on the train. Some of the group had never been outside of the Midwest � much less America. We were having a good time but trying hard to stay on the right side of offensive. The subway stopped and a group of loud, blonde, college age girls stumbled drunk onto the train.

No, it was not the Bush twins.

I averted my eyes in shame. Surely, these horribly behaved humans were Americans. Surely, this is why people across the world hate my beloved country. Then one of them started to speak. I was ready to stand up and apologize to the train for the behavior of my compatriots when French came out of her mouth. I was much relieved.

An older woman sitting next to me on the train must have noticed my nonverbal reactions to the commotion, leaned in and said, �Not all ugly people come from America. Some of us even like Americans.� She smiled and laughed, then got off at the next stop.

Today I was reading this anti-American dribble and I remembered, �I do not care what people in AMERICA think about me, why would I care about what some forlorn Aussie thinks?�

Remember this: America is not hated for it�s vices or it�s boldness. America is hated because our freedoms have given us the room to be creative and industrious, that creativity and industry (and God) have blessed us with wealth. Freedom and wealth; strength and honor, all things that make us hated in the world. It is not something really that we have that causes the problem as much as that other countries lack.

Do I hate other countries? Not really. What do I really think of Australia? Texas of the Sea (and I love me some Texas).

11:47 PM :: 3 comments so far ::
prev :: next