some lights seem eternal
in this springtime of hope

the milk is free

August 15, 2004
My boss is out of town and so is my immediate supervisor, which leads me to my fun in life: no one else here thinks I am funny. If you do not have a sense of humor, you will have a horrible time working with me. I am not really that funny but I think I am.

We are moving the furniture back into the school after the renovation. It is a pain and it is not being done by professional movers. It is being done by seventy-year-old men, a crabby old woman, and myself. The old woman, Bitchy Mc Bitching, has been in charge of things and has been great about it. There is nothing like an unfriendly old woman to make volunteer work worthwhile. I would invite you over but I suck at sharing.

Also, last night when I was making dinner around nine o�clock my doorbell rings. My doorbell ringing is very odd since everyone I know has a cell phone and calls ahead, knows that I live a bad neighborhood, and generally does not visit. I went to go check and see who was outside.

The last time my car was vandalized they rang the doorbell first. I was in the bathroom so I did not get to the window until it was too late. I do not go downstairs unless I know who it is. Well, I see my boss�s boss�s car outside so I tromp down the steps to let him in. I have no idea why he does not have his keys.

It is not just the boss of bosses but it is also his family. His wife is really tense and so is his kid. Oh, wait, his kid is in my class. That is important but I am wearing my one and only beer t-shirt. So, this woman who is very tense enough to snap a pencil with her sphincter, and her equally tense child, get to see my in all my house cleaning beer shirt glory. I hope I become the subject of gossip.

I work at a private school, run by the Church that my religious order is affiliated with, and I live in the church attached to the school. I was getting at a point and I guess that point is: religious people are cheap. We are there, moving things and cleaning them. One seventy year old sees another seventy year old and says, �Why is he up on a ladder? We should pay for professionals to do this work!� By the way, it is a bad idea to tell people that you work for, �No one is going to buy the cow when you give away the milk for free.� He cringed and I think I hit home. I bet he told his daughter that. I hope so.

God, this is boring. I�m going to stop now.

12:38 AM :: 0 comments so far ::
prev :: next